25 Albums That Shaped my Life

Listening: Jupiter Blue – Constellations & Satellites, Setting Fires – EP1

Prompt: Once again, not really a prompt.  A friend of mine had this up on her Facebook page and I decided I’d do it too.

25 albums that have shaped who I am today.  Some go all the way back to my childhood, some I’d never listen to again if you paid me but they were important when they were new. HAHA So, without further ado…in no particular order, the 25 essential albums that shaped my life:

  1. Kill Hannah – For Never and Ever (yeah, this probably really is number 1)
  2. Death Cab for Cutie – You Can Play These Songs with Chords
  3. Everclear – Sparkle and Fade
  4. Prince – Purple Rain soundtrack
  5. Belinda Carlisle – Heaven on Earth
  6. Monty Python – the Final Rip Off (okay, so not a music album but …if you know me at all, you will agree with this 100%)
  7. Theta – Somewhere Between Texas and Colorado (what this is, and the reason there will only be a tiny handful of people who have even heard it, is my ex-idiot’s ex-band’s demo CD which I still have [shut up, don’t judge me!]…. do with that what you will)
  8. The Cure – Disintegration
  9. The Smiths – Strangeways Here We Come (the thing with the Smiths, is it’s more about individual songs but this album has more of those than the others)
  10. Joy Division – Unkown Pleasures
  11. Bon Jovi – Bon Jovi
  12. Madonna – Immaculate Collection
  13. Cyndi Lauper – True Colors
  14. Paula Abdul – Forever Your Girl (I already said, don’t judge me!)
  15. Sex Pistols – Nevermind the Bollocks
  16. Big Head Todd and the Monsters – Midnight Radio
  17. Smashing Pumpkins – Siamese Dream
  18. Toad the Wet Sprocket – Dulcinea
  19. Offspring – Smash
  20. Green Day – Dookie
  21. No Doubt – Tragic Kingdom (shut up)
  22. Gin Blossoms – New Miserable Experience
  23. Bone Thugs N Harmony – E. 1999 Eternal
  24. The Beatles – 1’s (not really but like the Smiths, it’s more about the songs than any one album so 1’s is the best collection of those)
  25. Save Ferris – It Means Everything (no, really, I’m serious as a heart attack)

Leave a Reply

