How About … Let’s Try for a Catchy Title….

Watching: CSI:NY…. so I love the original, the first but it has suffered (in my eyes) the losses of Grissom and Warrick. And maybe it’s the Empire State of Mind but there is such a perfect level of sarcasm and dry wit inNew York that it has ALMOST replaced Las Vegas….Almost….whoops! DETOUR!
Eating: Fudge Snickers
Drinking: iced tea

Okie dokie, that little CSI:NY detour out of the way, let’s take a look at favorite book/series ever. If I just go with my first instinct, knee-jerk reaction, there is a tie between two. The first is The Portable Dorothy Parker by…if you need me to tell you the author, I’m going to find you and stab you in the thigh with a pencil. DP is my idol, my role model, my shero. Her writing is amazing (my sense of humor has, on occasion, been compared to hers), she was a trailblazer, a lonely girl in an all-boys club (to that I can relate) and in her will she designated all future royalties of her work be donated to the NAACP. So it stands to reason that a comprehensive collection of her work would be a favorite.

The second is The Forever King by Molly Cochrane and Warren Murphy, the first book of their Arthur Blessing trilogy. Arthur. That’s the whole point. I’m a HUUUUUUUUGE King Arthur nerd, as some of you may have read in my about me, and this is a modernized version of that. One legend says that Merlin put a spell on Arthur’s body after he was killed that he would return at the beginning of a new millennium at a time when the world needed him most. The Forever King, as well as the other two books, center around this legend. Arthur Blessing (at the beginning of the story) is a 10-year-old red headed boy living in New York at the turn of the century. The same age as Arthur (in some stories) when he pulled Excalibur from the stone. Other characters are Hal (pay special attention to his name), a retired FBI agent, and Talesin, an old man who attaches himself to Hal on an eventful bus ride through the English countryside, and later to Arthur. I’ve read it three times. :D

And this concludes my knee-jerk reaction to the question of what is my favorite book EVER.

Leave a Reply

