Ranting and Lamenting

Today’s meme …..entry(?) is about favorite short stories or short story collections. I’m going to just make this quick and then move on to what’s really on my mind.

Short stories: The Lottery by Shirley Jackson, The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilliam and Harrison Bergeron by Kurt Vonnegut

Short story collections: Stephen King…pretty much sums it up but I think Everything’s Eventual (the one with Riding the Bullet and 1402) was probably the best.

With that out of the way, on to my real thoughts. I know, it’s been a while, right?

All my life, all I have ever known how to be is a writer and story teller. I have drawn and painted, sang, danced, acted, directed, played the drums and trumpet, I have sculpted and cut-and-pasted, but in all of those things I was only ever good. And I liked doing them. But writing is in my blood. It’s what I’ve always known how to do.

But lately, it has become a colossal effort. Which sucks on a colossal level because not writing causes real physical discomfort. It’s hard to describe but it’s like when you’ve been sitting in the back seat of a compact car with two other people for the last four hours and your muscles have started trying to make their own decisions but your brain is still in control and keeping you from flopping your legs across your neighbors’ laps.

I’m still writing. I’m here every day, writing something but in the words of the GooGoo Dolls’ John Rzeznik, “The thing about writer’s block is you’re constantly writing, you just think everything sounds like crap.”

What happened to the creative energy that lead me to succeed in the Labor Day Weekend novel ….er thingy. Okay, so I never actually participated in that ($50, really????) but I did write a (VERY ROUGH draft) of a novel in about 3 days. When it came time to edit it (and by “edit” I mean retype it from hard copy because the computer crashed) I realized how badly it sucked but…it had a beginning, middle, end, characters, conflict, climax, resolution….all those things that make a novel a novel.

I really had a lot more to say about this but I’ve kind of lost the oomph for the rest of it. I’m going to finish my $10 Harry Potter article which may or may not find its way to Yahoo and go turn into a pumpkin.

Leave a Reply

