Day 4 – Something You Have to Forgive Someone Else For

Probably the most accurate answer to this question is my dad.

A while back … two or three years … I got into a bit of trouble and needed help getting out of it. I asked my dad for help.

Please don’t misunderstand. None of this is because he didn’t help me. It’s because he didn’t even tell me no. Just ignored me. It’s something I deal with a lot and kind of a pet peeve of mine – when you ask a favor of someone and rather than telling you they can’t do it, they just pretend like you never even asked. And it’s one thing when you are my sorority sister and I’m looking for recommendation letters for graduate school. It’s another thing to be my dad, to make it clear that you are unhappy that I chose to live with my mom after the divorce, and to simply ignore my plea for help.

I’m not really upset about it, as much as I was before but it’s been so long now that I don’t know how to not feel disappointed.

Leave a Reply

