30 Movies

This was supposed to be another 30 Days meme but I didn’t want to stretch out the one word answers for that long sooooooo I’m doing it all at once.

day 01- the best movie you saw during the last year My first instinct is Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1. Because it is the freshest in my memory and because it was awesome. But to be fair, I really should go back through all of the movies of 2010 (good job doing this on January 1 so a year really is a year…) and I find Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland. And there’s really no way to choose between the two.
day 02 – the most underrated movie Suicide Kings … A group of college friends frame a mobster for kidnapping and then hold him hostage until he gives up his captive. Christopher Walken, Dennis Leary, Sean Patrick Flanery, Jay Mohr, Brad Garrett… really, do you need another reason to watch?
day 03 – a movie that makes you really happy Dazed and Confused… meh, why not?
day 04 – a movie that makes you sad Tim Burton’s 9 There are a lot of really sad movies but they all kind of bring it all back around to something cheerful in the end. Not 9. Nothing good comes of the end of that movie. It starts out sad and ends up sad and is sad all the way through.
day 05 – favorite love story in a movie What Dreams May Come. Hands down, easiest answer so far. The man gives up Heaven to be with his wife in Hell…knowing that after a short time, he won’t remember who she was. Seriously? Can you get any more romantic?
day 06 – favorite made for tv movie :/ The only thing I can think of is the atrocious Steven Weber “The Shining” and 50% of everything they show on the SyFy channel (also bad). Speaking of The Shining, however… Stephen King has done some pretty kick ass mini-series things….. OH WAIT! I KNOW! The Tin Man miniseries with Zooey Deschanel!
day 07 – the most surprising plot twist or ending I REFUSE to say the Sixth Sense.
day 08 – a movie that you’ve seen countless times Probably something from my childhood. I’ll say the CTW/Bill Melendez made-for-TV The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe. I saw that one so many times as a kid that when I finally read the book 20 years later I could still hear the actors’ voices in the dialog.
day 09 – a movie with the best soundtrack O.O Have you met me?! First instinct, Control (2007). But The Crow, amazing, The Crow City of Angels, also awesome… Dazed and Confused, both Boondock Saints, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist…. Really??
day 10 – favorite classic movie Define “classic.” 70’s? Let’s go with that or if we include the 80’s I’ll never narrow it down… ummm I guess my first instinct here was Rosemary’s Baby so let’s just stop thinking and say that.
day 11 – a movie that changed your opinion about something I once thought Ben Stiller was cool (Reality Bites, If Lucy Fell) and then I saw There’s Something About Mary and from that point on he’s annoyed the hell out of me….does that count?
day 12 – a movie that you hate Kind of not a huge fan of chick flicks in general but OMG How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days…. Or as Mat Devine put it, How to Suck a Suck in 10 Sucks… There is nothing about that movie that doesn’t make me embarrassed to be a woman.
day 13 – a movie that is a guilty pleasure I have a philosophy on guilty pleasures …. there is no movie (song, television show) that should make you embarrassed to enjoy it… but… I guess it would be something like Not Another Teen Movie. *shrug*
day 14 – a movie that no one would expect you to love I’m torn between two of the aforementioned chick flicks… Beaches and Alex & Emma. Beaches I’ve loved since I was a kid, Alex & Emma just has a neat twist… it still follows the boy meets girl, boy is charmingly inept, girl is captivated, boy acts like an ass, girl leaves, boy makes a huge romantic spectacle, girl dissolves into a puddle of happy tears, fin formula but there’s just something different about it that I didn’t hate.
day 15 – a character who you can relate to the most Norah, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Actually, I can kind of relate to Nick too but Norah more.
day 16 – a movie that you used to love but now hate hmmmm usually it goes the other way…
day 17 – a movie that disappointed you the most There is a list of horror movies that fit this category as long as my arm…at least. At the very top are Funny Games, I Am Legend and The Ring.
day 18 – a movie that you wish more people would’ve seen Presently, Burlesque, just because I was hoping to see it last weekend and it’s no longer showing in my town.
day 19 – favorite movie based on a book/comic/etc. Ummm let’s just narrow this to comic or we’ll be here all month. It’s a tie between The Crow and Tim Burton’s Batman.
day 20 – favorite movie from your favorite actor/actress Is Jackson Rathbone my favorite actor? I mean, he’s kind of amazing and freaking beautiful but put him against the likes of Robin Williams, Kevin Spacey, Sean Patrick Flanery…and I’m not so sure. Actress, Jena Malone…movie Confessions of an American Girl
day 21 – favorite action movie I’m kind of a sucker for the adventure fantasy genre…. Indiana Jones, The Librarian, National Treasure et al.
day 22 – favorite documentary All I can think of are the Michael Moore movies and I really didn’t get into those too deeply.
day 23 – favorite animation ummmmm I’m just going to say Tim Burton and call it a day.
day 24 – that one awesome movie idea that still hasn’t been done yet There are only 7 original story ideas; it is the way they are manipulated that separates the good writer from the great writer.
day 25 – the most hilarious movie you’ve ever seen Hmmm choices choices… the Monty Python movies or the Mel Brooks movies were all pretty amazing. But considering I use the phrase “sputtering out sentence fragments and lighting things on fire” in every day life more often than you might expect, it was probably Tommy Boy
day 26 – a movie that you love but everyone else hates Yeah… I have no freaking clue.
day 27 – a movie that you wish you had seen in theaters Boondock Saints… the second one was absolutely incredible so I really hate that the original did so poorly in the box office.
day 28 – favorite movie from your favorite director Favorite director?? Tim Burton – Nightmare Before Christmas. John Hughes – Too hard to pick between Ferris Bueller’s Day Off and The Breakfast Club
day 29 – a movie from your childhood Ummmmmmm Let’s go with the Sword in the Stone…the movie that sent me down the rabbit hole into a life long fascination with King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table
day 30 – your favorite movie of all time Of all time? Okay see here is where things get weird. Because the answer to this question is not one of the movies I commonly list as my favorites but I never get tired of watching it, have seen it more times than I can remember and love love love it and that’s Swing Kids.

Whew! That only took 3 hours of my life! hehe In retrospect, maybe should have done it day by day.

One thought on “30 Movies

  1. I may have to do this one after all. If for no other reason I can talk about Constantine on Day 19. (Yes I’m on a kick for some reason)

    Meanwhile, WEEEEEEEE great list. :D

Leave a Reply

