Two in One

Sooooooo someone *cough* left a comment on Monday’s entry that I did yesterday’s a day ahead of time…. But I didn’t so here are two for today.

Day 25 – Your definition of love – When I was in high school one of our big projects (they called them I-Search projects, don’t ask me why) was to define something indefinable. Love was one of those things (I wasn’t the one do define “love” and I don’t remember what my word was…funny how that works, huh?). Anyway, the point of that story….assuming there was one…. is that love is a hard thing to define. I really don’t have a definition. I just know it’s something that you know. If you have to ask “do I love…?” or “am I in love with…?” the answer is probably no (Unless you are just asking to try to convince yourself otherwise but that’s a different discussion altogether). The problem is, if you’ve never been there, never been in love, never really loved someone, you are going to ask those questions. It isn’t until you find yourself there, smacked in the face with the feeling that you know the answer was no all those other times you had to ask.

Is that an answer? Whatev, I’m not here for you to judge! LOL

EDIT: “Love is watching someone die.” Death Cab for Cutie, What Sarah Said

Day 26 – Your definition of the meaning of life

I think that everyone has a purpose, that we were brought to life for a reason, to complete a task, to achieve a goal. Unfortunately, I don’t think that that purpose, reason, task, goal is to trudge through from day to day, paycheck to paycheck, eeking out a survival but that’s what our world expects of us. We have to work menial jobs that we hate, that suck out our souls, in order to eat, in order to keep a roof over our heads. Living up to the purpose…finding the purpose we were meant for, is pushed under the rug.

For the record, I think this is my purpose. I’ve been a storyteller since I could string words into sentences and a writer for almost as long. I’ve never known anything else. I’ve never been more than “decent” at anything else. But I don’t get a lot of time to spend on that purpose.

Damn the man, save the Empire!

Leave a Reply

