May Meme – Day 3

Living in complete darkness we are all the same. It is only our knowledge and wisdom that separate us. Don’t let your eyes deceive you. – Janet Jackson, Living in Complete Darkness (from Rhythm Nation 1814)

Racism.

I heard a statistic. I can’t find it again and I forget what it was exactly, but something to the effect of in as few as ten generations there will only be one race left on Earth due to interracial marrying and, subsequently, breeding. I definitely don’t think it will be that soon. There are too many racists in the world for that to happen that soon. I think in parts of the world, it is absolutely possible but the Deep South of the U.S., the Middle East, South Africa… places where “racial purity” is the taught and practiced way of life, where the mere idea of marrying, breeding outside of one’s own race is a punishable offense, nevermind the actual practice.

Don’t take that the wrong way… I think the idea of one race is amazing, wonderful and would put an end to a lot of trouble in the world but I don’t think we’ll see it. And by “we” I mean every human alive today, including that baby who was just born… and that one… and that one. And that baby who was just conceived. And that baby’s future children. But one day, maybe.

One thought on “May Meme – Day 3

  1. Pingback: May Meme « I'll Be Brave Tonight

Leave a Reply

