Twofer Tues…er Thursday

I’m really not sure where Hootie and the Blowfish fit into the musical world, in terms of contribution, technique, whatever. In the world of my youth, they were among the greats. I listened, sang along, knew every word. Darius Rucker’s voice was one of those that made the soundtrack of my youth.

In the last couple of years, Darius Rucker has returned to the musical world, as part of the country scene. The unmistakable voice I had loved so much as a tween (p.s. and totally off subject, spellcheck doesn’t like “spellcheck” but it’s totally okay with “tween” *facepalm*) is now on the pop country radio stations that I pretty much abhor.

Say what you will about Hootie and the Blowfish but they didn’t really sound like anyone else making music at that time. Maybe Sister Hazel, Counting Crows to a point, but mostly, not. Of course, that was kind of the norm of music in the 90’s… most bands didn’t sound like other bands…unique was common. But now the man behind the Blowfish is making music that sounds exactly like every other country song on the country radio. Same rhythms, same chords, same melody changes… The only thing that sets his songs apart from the others is his voice.

And for some reason, this annoys the hell out of me. I mean, don’t get me wrong, kudos for success, kudos for winning but at what cost?

Leave a Reply

