Walk the Line

Getting back to the 50 Questions that Will Free Your Mind theme from weeks ago… Question number four is “When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?”

Probably.

I have so many things that I would love to do. I would love to live in one of those hypothetical worlds where I really don’t have any obligations and money really isn’t an issue.

I guess I can cross off some things from my list that a lot of people never get the chance to. See a Broadway play (be on a Broadway stage *giggle*), publish a book, start a business…although there are a lot of purists and naysayers left in this independent, DIY world who will say I really haven’t done either of those last two things. But if being listed with the Library of Congress and Bowker Books in Print doesn’t make a publishing company real or a book real then I don’t… want to be real. – Sorry. That wasn’t how I intended to end that sentence but it just kept jumping ahead in line so I gave in to its spoiled brat behavior.

But if I had no obligations and money was no object there would be a lot more doing and a lot less saying. I’d be in a new city every month. I’d live where and how and with whom I wanted to live. I’d buy awesome camera equipment and follow bands around the world, snapping pictures of them and of the world as seen from a tour follower. I’d buy an old printing press…when I was in high school I was on the newspaper staff and we did the print your articles, cut them out, paste them on this grid paper, send this grid paper to the printer and in a few hours you have a newspaper…ummm routine. I’d buy one of those printers and publish my magazine on it and litter the countryside with stacks of copies in coffee shops and quaint hole in the wall bookstores and other places where artsy people congregate.

So, yeah, the answer to the question is that when it’s all said and done, chances are fairly decent that I will have said more than I’ve done. If for no other reason than I have big dreams and (no money) can’t figure out how to make them all happen simultaneously.

One thought on “Walk the Line

  1. Pingback: 50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind « I'll Be Brave Tonight

Leave a Reply

