I am the friend…

Disclaimer: Any use of the word “you” in the following text both is and is not intended for one specific person. If you wonder if it applies to you, it might. I don’t mean to offend anyone or hurt feelings; I don’t know why I would, but there is always that chance. Just know it is not my intention. I’m simply trying to sort out some feelings.

I am the friend who always has to invite themselves to the party.

I am the friend who gets left behind if I take too long gathering my things.

I am the friend who wishes I was the friend you turned to first when things happen, both good and bad.

I am the friend who wants nothing more than for you to ask me a hundred questions, trying to get to know me better, but I am also the friend who might be afraid to answer your questions because others have used those answers against me.

I am the friend who can sometimes feel completely alone in a crowded room.

I am the friend who misses your company and wishes it was possible to spend more time together.

I am the friend who doesn’t know how to tell you to open up to me and who doesn’t know if you want me to open up to you.

I am the friend who wants you to want to know what I’m doing, how I’m doing.

I am the friend who gets interrupted halfway through a story.

I am the friend who stays quiet because no one is listening anyway.

I am the friend who always wonders if I am a good enough friend and worries that I am probably not.

3 thoughts on “I am the friend…

Leave a Reply

