Book Blog

In a hunt through the many images on the interwebs, as assisted by Google, to find one of those 30 day workout things that I felt like I could actual do in my less than athletic capacity, I found this:
30books
I decided, rather than spend thirty days one-and-two-wording everyone to death, I’d just answer all of the questions in one shot. Some of them are going to require a bit of expounding but for the most part it’s all just the titles of books. So without further ado…
Best book you read last year Sadly, I have not done much reading lately. I started a couple different books but didn’t finish any of them, I don’t think.
A book that you’ve read more than 3 times I don’t think any, as an adult. But I read all of Alvin Schwartz’s Scary Tales… books several times as a kid.
Your favorite series The Dresden Files, currently
Favorite book of your favorite seriesBlood Rites. It’s a turning point in the series and completely changes the dynamic between two major characters.
A book that makes you happy hmmmm Where the Sidewalk Ends?
A book that makes you sad The Giving Tree
A book that makes you laugh I have a whole collection of Garfield comics
Most overrated book The Fault in Our Stars. Sorry, folks, I got through…like, six excruciating chapters and couldn’t do anymore.
A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving And Then There Were None (formerly Ten Little Indians) by Agatha Christie
A book that reminds you of home I guess that depends on your definition of home… but one that jumps to mind is Friday Night Lights, even though, to be honest, I haven’t actually read it. But the whole idea of a small town where football is life resonates both in where I grew up and where I went to college.
A book you hated THE HOUSE OF BLOODY GODDAMNED LEAVES
A book you love but hate at the same time Actually, it might be accurate to say this was The House of Leaves. It’s kind of difficult to accept but I can’t really accept that I could hate something so passionately without also loving how much of an impact it had on me. So, I’ll say this is The House of Leaves and the one before this is either the Virgin Suicides or the Haunting of Hill House.
Your favorite writer hmmmm Stephen King although he has a few books that intimidate the hell out of me and Jim Butcher, for the moment.
Book turned movie and completely desecrated I can’t outright think of any. I mean, there have definitely been page to screen adaptations that strayed from the book but the overall story was still pretty much the same. But I have read a couple where the film version was pretty great so I picked up the book and regretted doing so. At the forefront of my memory are the Virgin Suicides and the Haunting of Hill House (referring to the 1999 Liam Neeson The Haunting; the original movie from 1963 with the same title followed the book more closely and was, therefore, just as drab).
Favorite male character So many to choose from…. Obviously Harry Dresden because without him we wouldn’t have the Dresden Files. Thomas Raith, also from the Dresden Files. Sirius Black from Harry Potter…
Favorite female character Well, Ginny Weasley, of course. Charlie McGee from Stephen King’s Firestarter
Favorite quote from your favorite book And definitely too many to choose from here so instead of trying to pick a favorite I’ll pick a moment from, yep, you guessed it, The Dresden Files where a character, Chief Joseph “Injun Joe” Listens-to-Winds, pretty gracefully sums up the entire series by saying to Harry, “You don’t get in trouble by the halves, do ya, son?”
A book that disappointed you The Fault in Our Stars.
Favorite book turned into a movie Really? Let’s just go with Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Favorite romance book The only “romance book” I ever read was The Wind Blows Backward by Mary Downing Hahn. So, we’ll say that.
The first novel you remember reading That’s the problem. I have no idea. I remember what it was about – a kid (can’t remember if it was a girl or boy) was kidnapped and found a typewriter in the basement where they were being held and used it to get notes out into the world…? I think. All I know is it wasn’t the Face on the Milk Carton because I read this book between 1987 and 1989ish and the Face on the Milk Carton was published in 1990…. Otherwise, probably one of the Boxcar Children books.
A book that makes you cry I didn’t read them. My third grade teacher would read to us to kind of calm us down and reign everything in after our lunch recess and two of the books she read to us were Where the Red Fern Grows and Bridge to Terabithia. Traumatizing.
A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t Define a “long time.” I have a never ending list of books I want to read and some of them have been on said list for several years. Maybe the Sandman/Endless Night series. The biggest obstacle to me reading them is my inability to focus on comic books.
A book you wish more people would’ve read The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I think a lot of people – kids and adults alike – just saw the movie and never bothered with the book.
A character who you can relate to the most Hmmmidunno… Maybe Skeeter Phelan from The Help, a writer who doesn’t want to be pushed into marriage just because it’s the polite thing to do and who wants to use her writing to make a difference in the world… I guess.
A book that changed your opinion about something I can’t think of any right off the top of my head but I think reading biographies is a good way to …maybe not “change” your opinion but broaden the way you see things.
The most surprising plot twist or ending I can’t think of any….
Favorite title of a book Touching from a Distance: Ian Curtis and Joy Division by Deborah Curtis
A book everyone hated but you liked I honestly don’t really know what “everyone” thinks of books. I have a couple of friends who I consult about books but I don’t really read reviews or anything like that.
Your favorite book of all time I always gravitate toward Firestarter here but I honestly don’t know that I have one favorite book.

So, there you have it. Although, I am not sure how much of this is accurate because it doesn’t seem to matter how many books you’ve read, when you try to do something like this, you can only remember five. And not even the most recent five. Just…a random five.

Leave a Reply

