Day 1: Why I’m doing this

I guess the most appropriate place to start is with an introduction.  Not really introducing you to me; if you have been following this little blog for any time at all, you are fairly well acquainted to me. This is an introduction to what I am trying to accomplish here.

I am a writer.

I have been writing stories or telling stories since I could string words into sentences. For most of my life, I have focused primarily on fiction – horror and non-genre literary fiction, mostly – but also poetry and I’ve even been known to write research papers just for giggles. My senior year in high school I took an independent study class where I did exactly that. I wrote papers. On anything I wanted. My final project was on a career field I once considered pursuing – parapsychology. Yes. That’s correct. I wrote an entire ten page paper on chasing Big Foot and watching for UFOs. It was actually pretty interesting.

I wrote my first story (on paper – that I can remember anyway) when I was in the first grade. We had, as many kids in American in the 1980s did, story time after recess. It was kind of a way to get us to settle back in from being outside, running around like kids (ahem) for 30 minutes. We sat quietly at our desks – some kids napped – while the teacher read to us from whatever book she had picked out. I can’t even tell you how long it lasted but I’d guess another 30 minutes would be a safe assumption. I have always had a busy mind that can’t just sit still and listen while someone reads so I grabbed a piece of paper and some crayons and while the teacher read to us, I crafted my own world in which a pirate saved a princess from a dragon…or maybe it was the other way around. Either way, the cast of characters included a pirate, a princess, and a dragon and I illustrated the story as well.

Shortly after that – I was 9, I think – I went to the library in search of my first “scary” book. And everything I wrote, for myself, on my own, for the next 5 years, at least, was in the horror or thriller genres.

I published my own book of poetry and short stories in 2010. I would love to do something like that again.

As a writer, I am always writing, something. I feel like my Facebook has become a very rare place where I actually form unique thoughts and put those thoughts into words, whereas 80% of everything else on there is people sharing a screen cap of a random Tumblr page or a meme of some sort. Even then, I usually add my own words. That’s not saying that no one ever writes anything original, it just seems like “share this post” is a far more popular option.

Or maybe that’s just my feed.

Or maybe that’s what Facebook wants me to see because we’ve all seen that Facebook makes our decisions for us as far as news feed content is concerned.

But I digress.

Even though my Facebook posts still contain real words that come from my real brain, I don’t feel like I write anymore. I definitely don’t do enough creative writing anymore but even non-fiction, articles and blogs, are fewer and farther between than I would like them to be.

So I am challenging myself to spend the next 30 days writing. My goal is no less than 500 words per day/post, with obvious exceptions should someone give me some kind of interview/questionnaire to fill in or I scribble out a poem or something but 500 words is the goal.

I definitely welcome any suggestions for things to write about. Open-ended, essay type questions you want to know about me, fun “interviews,” anything like that. At the risk of sounding picky, I refuse to answer those either/or questions where you have to choose between the two most undesirable things in the known universe and questions like “what’s your favorite color” are obviously not terribly probing. Ask me real questions to which I can offer real answers.

This is kind of generally good advice when interacting with me in real life too.

A few of my real life friends have asked that I notify them personally when I post new things. Sorry this one isn’t terribly exciting. I’ll do better tomorrow, I promise.

Leave a Reply

