Blog spam, vol. 2 – Best day ever

Confession: I have the Whisper app on my phone. Sometimes I “whisper” things I can’t say to other people. Most of the time I just read what other people share.

Sometimes people ask random questions to try to lighten the mood and give everyone something else to think about. Many times those questions are repeated over and over again. One such question I’ve read a few times is “Reply with a song that reminds you of the best day of your life.”

I was struck, suddenly, by the idea behind this question.

What is this idea of the “best day of your life?” What kind of life is it that you only have one superlative, end all be all, alpha and omega best day of your life? And how do you pick that day?

A lot of people call it their wedding day or graduation day or the day their child was born. But what if you have more than one kid? Was it only the best day when the oldest was born?

I realize I’m being antagonistically literal but it really is an interesting idea. I don’t think I could choose one best day. I’ve had a lot of really great days and some of them were perfectly vanilla. Days I’ve spent with friends, just enjoying one another’s company, laughing, bonding. In college when we would get together the week before classes started and walk around the State Fair, just looking at stuff then watch the fireworks. Or when I traveled to Chicago and rode the Ferris Wheel on Navy Pier with my new friends the weekend before Christmas. And then four years later when those same friends and I stepped out onto the glass platform at the top of the Sears (Willis) Tower.

And then there are the slightly less “vanilla” days that I couldn’t have made up if I tried. I’ve met my heroes. And found them to be some of the most incredibly generous, kind people. The day I asked Chris Carrabba (Dashboard Confessional) to write the words “Don’t wait” so my little sister and I could get matching tattoos and he volunteered four different versions so our artist could pick “her favorite.” Yep, he said her… The day I watched everyone around me fawn and flutter over meeting Andrew McMahon while I smiled politely and asked for a hug. I asked him for a handwriting sample, too, and two years later, almost to the day, he remembered giving it to me. And Mat Devine. I don’t even think twice about calling him “friend” anymore. We’re not going out for coffee any time soon – although, I’ve learned never to assume – but he knows me by name and HE asks me for pictures. How many people can say that about a favorite singer in a band that has toured the world?

I’m not bragging. Most of the time, I kind of step back and wonder if any of these things really actually happened, despite physical evidence that they did.

Maybe, if I do ever get married, my wedding day will top all the incredible, can’t-pick-just-one days that came before it. Maybe, if I ever have children (or adopt children), the day that child becomes part of my life will be the topper. But right now, I couldn’t pick the best day of my life. I’ve had far too many. And I kind of feel sad for people who can pick one superlative, end all be all, alpha and omega best day of their life. I don’t think I would want to be able to narrow it down that far.

Leave a Reply

