Day 6 for those who never get bored

Day 6 – Someone who fascinates you and why

People who have always known what they wanted to do and never changed their mind.

Just stick with me…

Throughout most of my adult life I have encountered people who have never wanted to do anything but the thing they were doing. They always wanted to be a nurse or they always wanted to be a teacher and they can’t remember a time in their life when they ever wanted to be anything else. I’ve met musicians who have been playing some instrument or the other for as long as they can remember, dancers who have been dancing almost as long as they have been walking, chefs who got an Easy Bake Oven and never looked back.

And I guess, in some ways, I’m a little like those people. I started telling stories as soon as I could string words into sentences. I learned to write (like literally draw letters on paper) and learned the alphabet when I was 3. So it wasn’t too long after that that I started writing stories (okay, the first one I consciously remember was in the first grade). Which means I’ve been writing pretty much all my life. Certainly longer than I haven’t.

But I’ve always wanted to do other things, too.

I would love to make money with my visual art because I’ve been drawing nearly as long as I’ve been telling stories. I like being a cosmetologist but I’ve been doing it – including school – for three years and I’m already wondering how I could go back to school to learn how to do something else. Not because I don’t want to do what I’m doing but because I would love to be one of those people with like ten different degrees. I love school, I love learning. And I get bored super easy.

So people who have never (more than briefly) considered doing anything else fascinate me. I don’t know what it’s like to never consider other avenues.

I guess, in some ways, this kind of also applies to people who have only ever lived in one town and never considered living anywhere else (see previous post) or who have always wanted to be married with 2.5 kids and a dog. Really, any variation on the idea that someone could always want the same thing out of life, starting in kidhood and moving into adulthood, and never waver, never get bored, never consider wanting something different.

There is nothing wrong with always knowing what you want. I just find it fascinating because it doesn’t apply to me.

Leave a Reply

