Day 30 – looking ahead

Day 30 – One thing you are excited for

In the summer of 2006, after listening to their music for ten years, I got the chance to see AFI live. At the Fillmore Theater in Denver. A cavernous open space with purple chandeliers and maximum capacity of 3700 people. The opening act was a contest winner from New York that I fell in love with followed by a thrash punk band with which I was less impressed. When it came time for the headliners I learned that “seeing” AFI live was more a figure of speech than something people actually did. The entire crowd churned like the ocean in a hurricane. It was all you could do to stay on your feet, let alone actually “watch” what was happening on stage.

Three years later, in December, 2009, I “saw” them for the second time, this time at the University of Denver. The arena, which ordinarily houses the college hockey team, holds more than 7000 during a concert. I don’t know if there were that many there that night but it was a very similar experience. I started their set in the front left corner, with my hand on the barricade – unfortunately the tool next to me couldn’t be troubled to take one step to his left so I could actually hold onto the barricade so my stay there was short-lived. By the third or fourth song, my tiny self had been jostled and pushed and shoved until I was somewhere near the center of the crowd and closer to the right side of the room. And that wasn’t where I ended the night.

About a year and a half ago (August, 2014), I found myself at a very different show. The venue – Fiddler’s Green, still in Denver – was considerably larger but the pit area between the reserved seats and the stage is very small, big enough for 2 or 300 people at the most. This time I got to the barricade and this time I held on for dear life. Sadly, I didn’t need to because they were opening for a much larger show, which meant they weren’t playing to their crowd. But they still played like they were. They still put on a headliner performance.

In two weeks, I will be headed to the Bluebird Theater in Denver. The capacity of the Bluebird is 550. This is not for an AFI show but a side project. Davey Havok and Jade Puget’s electronic effort, Blaqk Audio. I am excited to see how their performances change with the different project. I am hoping (not expecting but hoping) that it will culminate with them coming out into the crowd to meet everyone since it is a much smaller venue. I don’t know what I’m going to say. Aside from thanking them for nearly 20 years of music. But the words don’t really matter. If I get a chance to meet them, that’s what really matters.

Leave a Reply

